You Might Catch It From a Ratchet!

I miss ho.

It’s no longer used by cutting-edge misogynists (boys). Their newish slur is:

Screen Shot 2013-01-26 at 9.51.15 AM

(Thanks urban dictionary.)

Wow! What a dynamic word! It goes so much further than ho!

When I picture the archetypal ratchet, I picture Gollum with a bad weave and STDs for teeth.

Gollum-and-Gwen-Stefani

I also like to think of the ratchet as a character in a Dr. Seuss book. This book would be titled You Might Catch it from a Ratchet!, a prequel to Horton Hears a Ho.

Screen Shot 2013-01-26 at 10.44.40 AM

It’s weird when the slang you grew up with goes into menopause. Trollop once must have been the most mind-blowing way of proclaiming hoochie. A slattern was hood rat. I wonder what will replace ratchet. My ESP tells me it will be a retooling.

Fork-Hoe-with-Handle

Ho(e)s.

Tri-RatchetLJ

Ratchets.

I propose post hole digger, trench, or plumb bob.

Inside-Linda-Lovelace-Book-Cover

Plumb bob.

I explore the word ho a whole bunch in my newest chapbook/zine A White Girl Named Shaquanda. I don’t think I mess around as much with the word ho in my other new poetryesque chapbook, menudo & Herb, but that’s more Spanglishly driven so there might be a puta or two.

16547_10151582755132892_1548095565_n

Poemics!

IMG_7371

Prose!

To order these, click the ETSY link and shop! If you’d like to review either of these for your zine, blog, or whatever, message me and I’ll hook  it up!

Leave a Reply

