Nice Dugs

As the 2013 school year draws to a close, some things remain viciously constant. Some kids will graduate. Some kids will not. My vice principal will continue to answer her stapler instead of her phone.

The end of the 2013 school year brings tender moments.

A child entered my classroom the other day, announcing, “Ms. G, you can see The Hangover III!”

“You mean they brought back Black Doug?” I replied. I had stressed to my kids that the only way I would see The Hangover III would be an assurance of the return of Black Doug.

The boy nodded.

How touching. They remember what I say.

black-doug

BLACK DOUG

Another mind-boggling thing happened, too, as I was eavesdropping on a conversation a cluster of teen boys was having about man crushes. Each kid was confessing his man crush, and they were admitting to the usual suspects such as Tobey Maguire (at that point I butted in and asked, “With or without the costume?”) and Jesus. (I think they felt safe saying Jesus because everybody loves Jesus. Unless you hate pork.)

It came time for one pint-sized cholo to confess his man crush and very succinctly, he said, “Cool hand Luke.”

“Paul Newman?!” I screamed.

“Yeah,” said the cholo. “They guy with the salad dressing.”

cool-hand-luke_l

Unbelievable. Next time you hear somebody bemoaning the state of the American public education system, cite this story because you know where this kid learned about this beefcake? A HIGH SCHOOL FILM CLASS.

A female student and I swapped extremely impressed glances.

“That,” I said, “is a very sophisticated choice.”

Feel free to share your man crushes in the comments…here’s a picture of mine:

tumblr_mh4uemPOxx1qmbu9jo1_500

3 comments

Leave a Reply

